news and results from your local league

Weeks 11 & 12

Powered by Drupal
Fri, 11/12/2009 - 07:14 -- Kings Best
PDF version

Table Tennis by Paul Myers

There are three teams unbeaten in the Aldershot and District Table Tennis League so far this season and they are Broadmoor A (Div One), Farnborough Tennis C (Div Two) and Frimley E (Div Four). All the teams are at the top of their respective divisions and look strong canditates for honours coming up to the halfway point.

In Division Four unbeaten Frimley E beat Farnham Cohesion B 7-3 with Roger Whichelow claiming a treble. Joint top with them are Cody D who beat Ash H 7-3 with Andy Stenning unbeaten on the evening. These two teams are gradually pulling clear of the field and it is already beginning to look like a two horse race. In third place are Bentley B who lost 6-4 to Cody E with Les Vaill bagging a treble for the losing side. Tennis J moved into fourth place after beating Fleet CC C 8-2 in which Paul Malabar claimed a hat-trick with Graham Dorey and John Davis grabbing braces for the victors and Robert Brook two for Fleet. Well done to bottom team Cody F who registered their first win of the season beating fellow strugglers Ash K 6-4. John Hutchinson won all three for the losing side while Bob Fenners and James Hodges won two each for Cody. 

Broadmoor A are looking dominant in Division One after whitewashing Ash A and drawing with nearest rivals Central B. Mark Handcock won five out of six with both Barry Morten and Clive Banham winning five out of six. Graham Watts was the man of the match trebling up for Central B with Peter Millard winning two. Central B just edged out Central C 6-4 in their local derby with that man Watts claiming another maximum, in reply Dave Phelps and Robin Pretty won two each. Central C also lost out 6-4 to Shackleford in which Robin Pretty claimed a full house and the same scoreline against Central A. Central A's Phil Snelson claimed a maximum and Paul Massey two in their narrow win. Frimley A and Ash B fought out a draw in which Dave Halfpenny was the man of the match winning all three for Ash in their two man squad.

Farnborough Tennis C are the form team in Division Two and they remain unbeaten. Club rivals Tennis B top the table however and they beat Cody B 7-3. Dave Jarvis, Dave Hewitt and Jack Davies all won two each, but were thwarted by Codys Kin Chan who bagged a maximum in style. Cody B also lost out narrowly to Frimley B losing 6-4. Hilary Greig and Nigel Oh both doubled up for Frimley with that man again Kin Chan unbeaten on the evening. In second place are Cody A who beat Frimley B 7-3. Dave Stenning grabbed a maximum and Peter Anthony two for Cody with Pete Good winning a brace for Frimley. Ash D have had a couple of good wins, beating Bourne A 8-2 and Tennis E 7-3 which has propelled them into mid-division. Frank Winnard won six out of six and Nigel Tustin five out of six for the in form Ash men. Ash E registered win number two of their season with a really needed 6-4 win against Bourne A, thanks to trebles from Karim Lawji and Sandy Simpson.

Bourne B lost their unbeaten record with an 8-2 loss at the hands of Ash F in Division Three. Paul Stock grabbed a duo for Bourne as did Terry French and Sheila Magee for Ash, but the man of the match was Dave Bentall with a hat-trick. Ash F also beat Fleet CC B 7-3 with Les Knight trebling up and Dave Bentall winning two. Tennis H recorded on emphatic 9-1 win against Ash G with trebles from Colin Baggott and Paul Jarvis. Tennis's Eliot Tilley won two and he only just lost out to Ash's Bill Abbott who grabbed a single to avoid the whitewash. Frimley C who are having a very respectable season so far, edged out Tennis F 6-4 thanks to a Jon Ball treble. In reply Derek Read and Ian Brown won two each in a match in which six sets went to five games. Farnham Cohesion A who are finding their feet in this Division narrowly beat the more experienced Fleet CC B 6-4. Farnhams Dong Ming Lau and Dean Robertson won two each as did Jeremy Fox and Mark Holbrook for Fleet.

In the Handicap Cup Ash B, Bentley B, Tennis A,Cody E, Tennis E, Tennis F, Ash E, Frimley D, Ash G, Frimley B, Farnham Coh A and Broadmoor B are all through to the next round. The majority of the matches played were not close affairs but two matches which stood out were Cody D (Div Four Leaders) versus Tennis F (Div Three) and Ash E (Div Two strugglers) versus Tennis J (Div Four) in which both went to the wire.

Cody D and Tennis F traded blows all the way through to four sets all.The final set played was between Mick Strode and Derek Read. Strode recieved a 10pts start but Read comfortably won all four games 11-3, 11-5, 11-6 and 11-5 to win 44-39 and give Tennis F the victory. Roy Pike and Derek Read won two each and Graham Marshall a single on the night with Andy Stenning in hat-trick form for the losers. In exactly the same fashion it was nip and tuck between Ash E and Tennis J with the shoot out between Ash's Clive Mattin and Neil Print of Tennis. Print gave Mattin a 4pts start and won the first two games 11-9 and 11-8 to virtually nullify the start with two games left to play. Mattin though had not read the Tennis script and won the next two 11-3 and 11-9 to win 43-34 and give Ash E the verdict. Clive Mattin and Sandy Simpson won braces and Janet Guess a single for the victors with John Davis bagging a maximum for the losing side.     

If you have read this newspaper report or others could you please email Paul Myers at or leave a comment on the ADTTL website: as we are trying to find out how many people actually read them in print or via the website.