news and results from your local league

Weeks 2 & 3

Powered by Drupal
Mon, 12/10/2009 - 18:34 -- Kings Best
PDF version

Table Tennis by Paul Myers

Farnborough Tennis B have made an excellent start to their season in Division Two of the Aldershot and District Table Tennis League. Top of the division and so far unbeaten they dismissed both Bourne A and Fleet CC A 8-2. Dave Hewitt was in maximum form against Fleet CC A in which Dave Joyce grabbed a brace for Fleet whilst Stuart Middlemiss and Jack Davies won five out of six for the tennis men. Cody A in second place beat Tennis E 8-2 thanks to a Dave Stenning treble and doubles from Peter Anthony and Paul Mission. Cody B's Kin Chan claimed a hat-trick and John Harvey two as they scraped a 6-4 win against an underperforming Bourne A for whom Brian Smithers won two. Ash D beat Frimley B 6-4 and Tennis D 7-3 thanks to the excellent form of Frank Winnard who was unbeaten in both matches. Tennis C edged out Ash E 6-4 with doubles from Brian Hartles and Graham Dickson but Karim Lawji stole the show with a hard fought treble. Tennis D got off the mark for the season with a narrow 6-4 win over Fleet CC A in which Graeme Streets was the man of the match winning all three


In Division Three Farnborough Tennis F thrashed both Farnham Cohesion A and Tennis H 9-1 to go top of the pile in the very early stages of the season. Derek Read and Graham Marshall both grabbed trebles with Ian Brown and Ron Wale who played in both matches winning five out of six. Ash F in second place beat Cody C 8-2 and Broadmoor B 6-4 with maximums from Dave Bentall and Jeff Brawn with Terry French winning four out of six and Les Knight two out of three. Bourne B are sure to be pleased with the way they have started by winning both their matches 8-2 and 7-3 against Ash G and Cody C respectively. Peter Butler was in top form winning six out of six with Phil Larking winning five out of six in both matches. Broadmoor B bagged their first win of the season in emphatic style crushing Farnham Cohesion A 10-0. Mark Armstrong, Dick Deacon and Norma Millward were all unbeaten in the romp. Cohesion A who are struggling so far this season in the higher division can only take positives from this match with many close games and Chris Secker, Dong Ming Lau and Dean Robertson are sure to keep on improving as they play more competitive matches. Tennis G drew with Fleet CC B and edged out Frimley C 6-4. Mark Holbrook was man of the match for Fleet with Ray Eason and Bob Brown doubling up for Tennis in both matches. Fleet CC B grabbed their first win of the season beating Ash G 6-4 with that man again Mark Holbrook claiming a hat-trick and Jeremy Fox two. Frimley C edged out Frimley D 6-4 in their local derby with Anthony Connelly the star man winning all three for the C's and Tony Harrison two, with Robeen Roopun grabbing a brace for the D's. Frimley D went on to register win number one of their season beating Tennis H 7-3 thanks to a Gary Nicholson full house.


Bentley B are setting the early pace in Division Four and had good wins against Fleet CC C (7-3) and Ash H (8-2). Les Vaill won six out of six with Pavol Bris winning four out of six and Anton Bris three out of six. Tennis J are in second place after three matches, they whitewashed Cody F and beat Ash J 7-3. Graham Dorey, John Davis and John Page were all unbeaten in the romp against Cody F while Page, Davis and a new player Paul Mallabar all grabbed braces against Ash J. Ash J's Josh Taylor however played some great table tennis on the evening securing a maximum for his side. Cody D have started very well beating Ash K 10-0 and Fleet CC C 9-1. John Asprey and Phil Russell were unbeaten in both matches with Andy Stenning claiming a hat-trick and Mick Strode two for Cody. Fleet CC C's Roy Chittenden beat Mick Strode to prevent the whitewash. Frimley E beat Ash J 6-4 with David Mackinnon bagging a treble and Stephen Bridle two whilst Josh Taylor and George Carder both claimed duos for Ash. Dave Phillips grabbed a hat-trick and Roger Fletcher two in Ash H's 6-4 win against Farnham Cohesion B whilst Dave Brown won all three for Ash K in their draw against Cody E. 


Finally,in Division One last years champions Broadmoor A are setting the early pace after an 8-2 win against an under strengh Central A and a narrow 6-4 defeat of Shackleford. Mark Handcock won all three against Central with Clive Banham and Barry Morten winning five out of six in both matches and only losing out to Centrals Phil Snelson. Central A drew with Ash B thanks to Norman Swift winning all three and Paul Massey two whilst Nick Mills doubled up for Ash. Last years runners up Central B comfortably beat Tennis A 9-1 with trebles from Pete Millard and Graham Watts. Tennis's Dave Jarvis beat Paul Myers (2wins) to prevent the whitewash. Ash C grabbed their first win in the top flight edging out Shackleford 6-4 in which Nigel Care was man of the match winning all three.