news and results from your local league

Week 16

Powered by Drupal
Sun, 21/01/2018 - 20:55 -- Dave Brown
PDF version

The Handicap Cup has not been kind to the Frimley club in the last batch of results. The E team played out 6-6 draw against Cody E. The star player of the evening was John Asprey who won all his singles. Steve Chapman and Ramesh Vasudevamurthy each won two singles for Frimley but it was ultimately the final doubles which Cody E won by just a point and a half that squared the match with Cody E winning 351 to 345 on countback. The club’s B team travelled to Tennis G and started well with Pete Good winning his first singles. John Eade won all his singles for Frimley but an injury to Good in his first doubles cost Frimley the match as he was unable to continue and he had to concede his other two singles and doubles. So Tennis took the match 7-5 winning just three matches completed on the table. The other two matches were won convincingly. Cody C easily beat Ash A with Bruce McPherson unbeaten for Cody and David Thomas and Stuart Stone each winning twice in support. Crawley Ridge A recorded an equally convincing win, over Tennis B. Corin Moore and Derek Lee were both unbeaten for Crawley Ridge.

Fleet B, who have yet to record a win in the league, edged past Cody D in the Third Division Cup, 5-4. Rob Brook was unbeaten for Fleet with Andrew Blunden bagging a brace which was matched by Cody’s John Sheehy. Crawley Ridge A beat Ash D 5-1 with both Russell Gibbs and Corin Moore unbeaten.

In the Fourth Division Cup Tennis H edged past a strong Braybrooke B team, 5-4. Michael Wolfe starred for Tennis with a maximum whilst John Page supported with a duo only losing the final, dead, singles. Kenny Duarte won a couple for Braybrooke.

In the Second Division Cup Ash C moved into the semi-finals with a 6-2 win over Frimley C. Frank Winnard won all his matches with Nigel Tustin winning the couple of matches that he played.

In the First Division Cup Central B whitewashed Tennis C thanks to Neil martin, Andy Appleby and Martin Townshend.